GoFundMe Reviews

GoFundMe allows you to create personal fundraising pages for just about anything.

Have you had experience with GoFundMe? What do you think? Leave your comments below.

P.S. Please provide honest reviews and do not try to pump your own product / service. Reviews are analysed through various means including checking out the IP address, email address and more. This ensures only true opinions are being reflected! :)

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

You will never get your money deposited in your account!

Apr 27, 2020 by Bob

NO matter how much you provide and how much or lil you raise the withdrawal to your account will not happen. Providing all the bills, lease, business reg, bank info and certifications yet still they want to phish people govt ID and even or those who gave them DL, passport and all still they are awaiting money over 2 yrs.

AND, they expect us to provide government ID which in Canada it is illegal, it's even written on the ID and passport: NOT to be used as ID, property of Canadian government. The privacy act is clear on that, and keeping the money hostage in return for govt ID is a federal offence here,yet they still do business here and impose these rules. I have reported them to RCMP fraud dept. They know about them, not the first person to be scammed by them.

They keep replying that it's their terms, who cares, if the terms are illegal doesn't make them ok!

People with positive experience are 3yrs and before, looks like mostly all negative after that. Don't try to email back and forth to explain you will not win any argument even if they know you are right. AVOID AT ALL COST! It's quite disturbing using people in need urgently and scam them like this.. I read that they use the funds to invest hence why they keep you in a loop of 'security verification' all bogus claim. Be very wary if you have money in donations, best you ask to send back to people and get them to send you directly with PP or FB donations, which I knew that before!


fraudulent company

Apr 15, 2020 by ziyaad ABDUL

Please do not use gofundme
we managed to raise about £8K through hard work, campaigning and so on. Our animal welfare depends on the funds raised.
They made an initial transfer after successful ID verification, following which no further transfer arrived into our account. I uploading the same ID, in vain.
They are fraudulent, will use tactics to delay any transfer, or no transfer at all.
Costumer service is appalling, no replies for a week.
service rate is high.


withdrawing money

Feb 25, 2020 by liz cooke

I am only clicking this box so I can write review. I am wanting to withdraw the funds collected during our campaign and it is not allowing me to do it all despite all the correct procedures. I have been emailing constantly and NO response at all. there are no telephone numbers to contact anyone. It is extremely distressing, especially as the funds have been donated and we need the money NOW to help my terminal ill sister who needs to pay her rent money or get kicked out. I would never have thought this GOFUNDME could scam us, but why don't they answer emails withholding over $6000 worth of friends and family donations for us. Cannot tell you how distressing this is, especially for my sister.


Go FUnd Me won't pay

Feb 05, 2020 by Betty Mantion

I don't even have a rating. these people are scam artists themselves. I have been trying to collect funds for an October 2019 fundraising campaign. All you can do is email these people and get back a bull shit response. They say Pay Pal is supposed to pay out the funds. I call Pay Pal and they have no clue what I am talking about. Yo can't talk to a person as the internet indicates they don't have phone numbers. I research to see who they are accountable to and get this to give a review. You have to be kidding me. DO they do what they want. It looks that way. Its a shame when the people who are there to help are the ones scamming people. Please if you can help it don't ever use this platform to raise money. You may never get I what you raised. I'm giving one star because I have to in order to get this message review through. Like I said in the beginning they are not even deserving of one star. its a crying shame.


go fund yourself

Oct 01, 2019 by erin rossi

i am on twitter and there is a new #philanthropy movement and its out of control! some of these people have had their accounts for over a year, one guy asked for a car and got the $ donated 1500.00 and is still asking for people to donate more money! this guy has been waiting 2 years to get accepted to disability which isn't guaranteed and in the mean time wants people to support him his wife and 6 kids! mind you this guy has child support he has to pay each month also. why are they allowing people to keep their go fund me acct. to be left up for so long and to keep begging??? this guy expects others to pay his whole life for???? when is it going to be enough???


worked great for us

May 04, 2019 by m laporta

set up account for my daughter's surgery. I had a couple questions during the first couple weeks and received helpful answers from facebook staff within a half day. All monies donated were sent within 24 hours with no problem. Every time there was a donation, I received an update. It was incredibly helpful across the board. They take only a small percentage of money received. Well worth it.


Tip Ridiculousness

Apr 02, 2019 by John

Made a donation today to a family that lost their child. I was used to some fees, but I was hit with a 15% tip amount I could not change. I don't mind covering the processing fees and some per click fee for GoFundMe operations, but 15% is beyond reason. I know how the fees for cards work since I have been in that industry for 30+ years, but the tip will keep me from donating this way anymore.


Chuck Demeo

Jul 08, 2018 by James McCart

What a scam collecting money for someone who never paid child support for his 1 son ,was a heroin addict and robbed a drug store . Bottom dwellers begging for money is sickening and shouldn't be allowed . Why are losers that chose their lifestyle allowed to ask people to support their losing choices . Sickening .


scammers

Jun 08, 2018 by paul robinson

a fund was set up for me after lightning struck our home and destroyed everything. 11 days later and not a penny. they keep finding different reasons why i am not allowed to take the money people have donated to me. or, as it looks like now, have donated to gofundme


Criminals

May 24, 2018 by Rob

My company set me up an account when my house burned down, I have not received a penny and there is no help desk to contact that will respond. so me and my children remain homeless because we can see the page but not get the money. its a scam I will never deal with them again.


Why The Extra Fee????

May 17, 2018 by Vicki

I donated yesterday to 2 different GoFundMe accounts. I have done this before but never been charged any extra money for operating expenses. One account did not charge me any extra fees, yet the other one did. Next time I decide to donate, I will just give them cash or send a check. People who are willing to donate to a cause should not have to upkeep this web site's operating expenses.


NOT ANY MORE

May 13, 2018 by DANIEL BIENIEK

Donated many times before, but now I have to tip, to give away MY MONEY? What kind of scam is this? NO THANKS I'LL STAY AWAY.


Catch me once, shame on you

May 01, 2018 by Peter

First time user of gofundme. ripped me 15% tip Well done gofundme.... you got me.. nice to take advantage of those that give!


Is this legitimate organization

Apr 30, 2018 by Raja Kolla

Yeaster day my self and my son donated to Ania Karcher’s son Cole. But I do not see our names in the list donated. I am wondering is this GoFund organization is it really legitimate.


The Tip $ does not go to the recipient

Apr 19, 2018 by susan firtch

I made a donation today to help a family friend with a sick baby. Then the site wanted a 10% tip. I didn't understand that, but hoped it reduced the recipient's fees or helped them in some way, so I paid it. Then I went on line and looked it up. The tip apparently goes to go fund me for its operating expenses, even though the recipients are still charged fees. Isn't this supposed to be a charitable endeavor? If I had it to do over again, I would still have given the money to help the sick baby, but I would have seen if there was a way to opt out of the tip.


Tio

Apr 05, 2018 by Kathleen Sowers

I did not give a donation after seeing your tip %!That's just disgusting. You don't even say who is getting the tip. It's a sad day for what I thought was a great way to help others.


TOO MUCH EXTRA

Feb 23, 2018 by William Burns

I have a really serious issue with GoFund now asking for a tip, there is something seriously wrong with the change they made. I can understand 2% or 3% at most, but 10% is a blatant ripoff and I have no intention of using their service in the future.


TIPS

Feb 09, 2018 by Marilee Pavik

I started to put money in a GoFund and was shocked about the tip. I was asked for 10% and a friend was asked for 15%. that is serious money going somewhere besides the person in need


Jan 14, 2018 by Janet Hulstein

GoFundMe doesn't fact check before allowing a campaign. A fundraiser was started for a tenant of ours who caused our home to burn. Tenant said she owned the home and was a single mother. Tenant claimed heater was broke when her gas was disconnected for non payment. Tenant was under eviction and fire is being investigated for arson. GoFundMe didn't check the story.


FRAUD

Dec 27, 2017 by TLC Canine Center

Before becoming involved with this company, I advise checking out ALL the complaints. They do a slick job of promoting themselves, and they have an awesome sounding Guarantee...which is worthless. They owe our non-profit group about $4,000...which was given by trusting people. GOFUNDME admits that it is owed to us...I have e-mails documenting that, but they refuse to send the money. They are a very questionable outfit...I finally found a phone number for them....it is a recording referring the caller to use e-mail. They simply give one excuse after another....DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY.


Crowdfunding Websites , USA 1.7 5.0 101 101 NO matter how much you provide and how much or lil you raise the withdrawal to your account will not happen. Providing all the bills, lease, business reg, bank info and certificati
Page:
123»
RECOMMENDED CROWDFUNDING WEBSITES:

GoGetFunding is our recommended website for personal / cause fundraising.

Kickstarter is recommended for creative all-or-nothing campaigns.

Crowdfunder.com is the place to go for equity crowdfunding.