GoFundMe Reviews

GoFundMe allows you to create personal fundraising pages for just about anything.

Have you had experience with GoFundMe? What do you think? Leave your comments below.

P.S. Please provide honest reviews and do not try to pump your own product / service. Reviews are analysed through various means including checking out the IP address, email address and more. This ensures only true opinions are being reflected! :)

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

the site sucks

Nov 19, 2014 by Chasity Radcliff

This company, and their use of WePay is one of the worst experiences of my life. There is no real customer support and they will suspend your campaign with no REAL explanation of why. Their reliance on WePay (which i've since researched and now see all the bad reviews) is the biggest detriment. The only real customer service support is emails and chats. Just like every other "start-up" tech company ive taken a chance on, this company has policies that hide them from any real accountability on how they treat their customers. Go with a more established brand (Kickstarter) if possible.

I just felt very used, cheated, and disrespected after trying to use this company for my campaign. Don't believe the slick marketing campaigns!!! VERY BAD EXPERIENCE!


OUTRAGEOUS FEES

Aug 10, 2014 by L Devine

Unbelievable that GFM charges 5% of the total and then the "We Pay" service charges another 2.9% and $.30 per transaction! Ridiculous to charge nearly 8% for people trying to raise money that they need, or are trying to help others with.
Looking for another way to raise funds for a friend with cancer and his family - this is no good!


Better than old reviews say

Aug 04, 2014 by Ruadhán McElroy / OfThespiae

It's a lot better than a lot of the older reviews here may lead one to believe. I've done two fundraisers through GoFundMe, both personal (one still going, in order to raise money for moving, as I'm on disability allowance and it would take me years to save up, otherwise --or at least four months on the streets, neither of which is an acceptable option, right now), and I've had no problems, except their fees.

Setting up the WePay direct deposits is a bit of a pain, but if you do it properly, you have the option to get payments from donors daily, weekly, or monthly. If you set up for personal use funding (rather than for a project, like how Kickstarter expects people to do, or IndieGoGo, which really wants people to collect for projects) there seems to be no applicable time limit on collection (I've never had to enter in a "need funds by..." date).

My only real issue is that their fees are higher than most other crowdfunding sites I've used. If you factor that into the amount you're trying to raise, it shouldn't be a BIG problem, but it's not really a non-issue, either, especially if you're disabled and on a fixed income and already feeling awkward about asking people for money you *need*, and when you're breaking down the costs on your GFM page, you get to "GoFundMe fees and miscellaneous expenses", and you realise that you've just admitted to asking for more money than you actually need, cos you can't afford the crowdfunding fees.

It's not as bad as the older reviews on here say, and I've never had a problem receiving a payment from them, but if it wasn't for the fact that it really seems to be the best option for people who need donated money for personal emergencies, rather than people who are raising money for charities or creative projects, I might turn eslewhere.


Too many scams

Jul 04, 2014 by Jayne Nelson

Go fund me was a good idea in the beginning but expensive. Now it's like craigslist, mostly scams. Sad but hopefully someone will come up with a new platform that actually does some checking on the stories.


No problems, great site!

Jun 07, 2014 by Lucy

I would have rated 4 stars, but I feel compelled to balance out the people who misused, misunderstood and were completely mistaken.

To the person who asked donors for a second payment in check form, you should be ashamed.

For everyone complaining about fees:
1. Be grateful for what people earned and donated to your cause.
2. If this site didn't exist you would have gotten nothing, and it is on the back of that 5% that the bills are paid there.
3. WePay is a separate company, which means there is a cost for the website as well, whether you use it or not.
4. Anyone with "suspicious activity," get your story straight before posting online and before complaining especially. A person donating to her husbands fund is suspicious to me already.


great site easy way to raise money

Apr 18, 2014 by travus

i would give 5 stars if there was other ways to share i just don't use twitter very often and i use Facebook very rarely. aside from that i think its cool that sites like this exist.

http://www.gofundme.com/dads-pain


Sep 16, 2013 by Shelli Stockton

Great idea but horrible site! Besides the fees, if you don't reach your goal, you don't get the money. We set it up for my brother's unexpected death for funeral costs and the goal was set at $5,500 we raised $1,595 and couldn't get any of it and having to ask donors 2 weeks later to send you a check is so embarrassing!


not so great

Aug 14, 2013 by lux omor

It's really helpful but the fees are way too much. I suggest you use another site. So far I've raised 720 but if I withdraw now I'll only get 657. Terrible almost 50 bucks in fees.


DO NOT USE THIS SITE

Mar 26, 2013 by lisa dolsey

We thought it was legit but when my husband tried to collect his funds (after numerous calls) they claimed there was "suspicious activity" on the account. When he asked what kind of activity (especially since they had told him a check was mailed "no problem") (and that he worked with everyone who donated) they would not disclose what the "activity" was.

He was put on hold 5 times in 1 hour and hung up on without any interaction. I donated to his charity, paid my credit card bill and have not received the refund they claimed they sent to all the donors.

My husband was given the runaround for 2 months before the "suspicious activity" was reported to him and no supervisor or higher up will take his call to explain what is going on with the account.

I highly DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS WAY OF FUNDRAISING. I am calling our local tv troubleshooter to ask for help.


Too Expensive and Very Sneaky

Feb 05, 2013 by grace

I have been researching crowdfunding recently for one of my start-up clients. When my step-son passed at 34, I thought it would be a great way to socially access my network and my network's connections and put together some much needed cash for my daughter-in-law.

I made the mistake of choosing a site quickly - and not reading the fine print.

I, just like the reviewer below, was in shock when almost 10% of the raised funds were all that were transferred. $2500 raised and they kept nearly $250.
This might be tolerable if it was CLEAR up front, and if I could make the minimum investment high enough to stomach the minimum per transaction fee. For $10 investments - darn near 1/2 went to the site.
Oh, and the reason I chose this site was the 'facebook integration' which SORT OF works. I had about a 50% success rate with my posts, and manually posted to my wall daily.

Bad form GoFundMe... clearly GoFundMe means THEM and not the cause for which we raise money.

Ok to solve this, I suggest:
Fixing the facebook link
Add other relevant features
Drastically reduce your %% in the case of memorial funds and raising money for operations... 5% is a no brainer (if it is the total fee) Consider it your community service.


Mildly Helpful but Expensive and Sneaky

Jan 19, 2013 by Al

Like other people said - the site only advertises the 5% fee (a little hefty already, but I decided it was worth it), but there's also a 2.9%+$0.30 fee charged by their payment processor that you don't even hear about until your fundraiser is nearly completely set up. And even then they don't make it clear that this additional fee is on top of the 5%. I suspected (hoped!) that it was included in the 5%... alas it isn't.

Really sneaky and deceptive, left a bad taste in my mouth.

Don't be fooled, the total fee per transaction is not 5%, it's 7.9%+$0.30. If you're looking for a $5 donation from each person, you're really only keeping $4.30 (86% of the donation).


Quick and Expensive

Sep 25, 2012 by Luis

I agree with others that this was a fast and convenient way to raise money, but I also saw 2.9% + $0.30 for "wepay" fees and later realized there is another 5% for the site. WAY too expensive. They also have this nice option to raise money for charity and have it donated directly.....for another 4.5% fee. By the time the money gets to the actual recipient, you're down to like $0.85 on the dollar.


Spam warning gofundme

Aug 26, 2012 by Alvin jones

I donated on this site to a coworkers dad that needed money for medical issues. The next morning I started getting hammered with spam all beginning with the name "doc". I would not recommend this site, there are other more secure sites that don't spam.


Watch this site for bad news !

Aug 16, 2012 by EP

Sadly this site has been where money has been donated to an apparently fraudulent individual using my card ... without my permission ... using Wepay.com. Verfication of transaction seems to be lacking at some point as the other vendors where my card was used identified this ... I shall report how they resolve this issue. Their first communication is not especially professional.


Kind of Sad.

Jun 26, 2012 by Brooke

The site is a great idea, but don't do it unless you have really, really good friends and family who don't judge that you have tons of money because you can afford a few cheap things here and there. Trying this taught me two things. 1) Never ask for anything, 2) I'm not worth 5 bucks to most of my family and friends. So be careful and don't expect too much from people.


Misleading...and expensive...but I couldn't have raised the $ otherwise.

Apr 07, 2012 by NellyNell

The way I read the website when I first signed up was that 5% was the charge kept by gofundme. I thought that was a little high but needed to raise money quick and it seemed ok. I was wondering why the money they were keeping was more than 5% and how they were getting away with it...PayPal fees in addition to their 5%. They should have specified that. I'd probably have been alright with it. Now I just feel deceived. Having trouble getting them to verify my bank account to deposit funds too now as well.


Mar 06, 2012 by Davina

Agree with the others ... 5% and then PayPal fees ON TOP is too much


Feb 15, 2012 by Lloyd

An expensive PayPal widget. Should have just created my web page and saved on fees


Feb 06, 2012 by HH

Doesnt really have all the required features to make it worthy of the high fee IMO


worked

Jan 20, 2012 by RayJ

Has a really nice interface and does the job but I thought the 5% fee was pretty high for what it offers


Crowdfunding Websites , USA 2.1 5.0 20 20 This company, and their use of WePay is one of the worst experiences of my life. There is no real customer support and they will suspend your campaign with no REAL explanation of
Fundraising / crowdfunding website Go Get Funding is our recommended website for raising money online. Fees are minimal, it's easy to use and they offer innovative social features. You can raise money for any cause, event or project.