GoFundMe Reviews

GoFundMe allows you to create personal fundraising pages for just about anything.

Have you had experience with GoFundMe? What do you think? Leave your comments below.

P.S. Please provide honest reviews and do not try to pump your own product / service. Reviews are analysed through various means including checking out the IP address, email address and more. This ensures only true opinions are being reflected! :)

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Sep 16, 2013 by Shelli Stockton

Great idea but horrible site! Besides the fees, if you don't reach your goal, you don't get the money. We set it up for my brother's unexpected death for funeral costs and the goal was set at $5,500 we raised $1,595 and couldn't get any of it and having to ask donors 2 weeks later to send you a check is so embarrassing!


not so great

Aug 14, 2013 by lux omor

It's really helpful but the fees are way too much. I suggest you use another site. So far I've raised 720 but if I withdraw now I'll only get 657. Terrible almost 50 bucks in fees.


DO NOT USE THIS SITE

Mar 26, 2013 by lisa dolsey

We thought it was legit but when my husband tried to collect his funds (after numerous calls) they claimed there was "suspicious activity" on the account. When he asked what kind of activity (especially since they had told him a check was mailed "no problem") (and that he worked with everyone who donated) they would not disclose what the "activity" was.

He was put on hold 5 times in 1 hour and hung up on without any interaction. I donated to his charity, paid my credit card bill and have not received the refund they claimed they sent to all the donors.

My husband was given the runaround for 2 months before the "suspicious activity" was reported to him and no supervisor or higher up will take his call to explain what is going on with the account.

I highly DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS WAY OF FUNDRAISING. I am calling our local tv troubleshooter to ask for help.


Too Expensive and Very Sneaky

Feb 05, 2013 by grace

I have been researching crowdfunding recently for one of my start-up clients. When my step-son passed at 34, I thought it would be a great way to socially access my network and my network's connections and put together some much needed cash for my daughter-in-law.

I made the mistake of choosing a site quickly - and not reading the fine print.

I, just like the reviewer below, was in shock when almost 10% of the raised funds were all that were transferred. $2500 raised and they kept nearly $250.
This might be tolerable if it was CLEAR up front, and if I could make the minimum investment high enough to stomach the minimum per transaction fee. For $10 investments - darn near 1/2 went to the site.
Oh, and the reason I chose this site was the 'facebook integration' which SORT OF works. I had about a 50% success rate with my posts, and manually posted to my wall daily.

Bad form GoFundMe... clearly GoFundMe means THEM and not the cause for which we raise money.

Ok to solve this, I suggest:
Fixing the facebook link
Add other relevant features
Drastically reduce your %% in the case of memorial funds and raising money for operations... 5% is a no brainer (if it is the total fee) Consider it your community service.


Mildly Helpful but Expensive and Sneaky

Jan 19, 2013 by Al

Like other people said - the site only advertises the 5% fee (a little hefty already, but I decided it was worth it), but there's also a 2.9%+$0.30 fee charged by their payment processor that you don't even hear about until your fundraiser is nearly completely set up. And even then they don't make it clear that this additional fee is on top of the 5%. I suspected (hoped!) that it was included in the 5%... alas it isn't.

Really sneaky and deceptive, left a bad taste in my mouth.

Don't be fooled, the total fee per transaction is not 5%, it's 7.9%+$0.30. If you're looking for a $5 donation from each person, you're really only keeping $4.30 (86% of the donation).


Quick and Expensive

Sep 25, 2012 by Luis

I agree with others that this was a fast and convenient way to raise money, but I also saw 2.9% + $0.30 for "wepay" fees and later realized there is another 5% for the site. WAY too expensive. They also have this nice option to raise money for charity and have it donated directly.....for another 4.5% fee. By the time the money gets to the actual recipient, you're down to like $0.85 on the dollar.


Spam warning gofundme

Aug 26, 2012 by Alvin jones

I donated on this site to a coworkers dad that needed money for medical issues. The next morning I started getting hammered with spam all beginning with the name "doc". I would not recommend this site, there are other more secure sites that don't spam.


Watch this site for bad news !

Aug 16, 2012 by EP

Sadly this site has been where money has been donated to an apparently fraudulent individual using my card ... without my permission ... using Wepay.com. Verfication of transaction seems to be lacking at some point as the other vendors where my card was used identified this ... I shall report how they resolve this issue. Their first communication is not especially professional.


Kind of Sad.

Jun 26, 2012 by Brooke

The site is a great idea, but don't do it unless you have really, really good friends and family who don't judge that you have tons of money because you can afford a few cheap things here and there. Trying this taught me two things. 1) Never ask for anything, 2) I'm not worth 5 bucks to most of my family and friends. So be careful and don't expect too much from people.


Misleading...and expensive...but I couldn't have raised the $ otherwise.

Apr 07, 2012 by NellyNell

The way I read the website when I first signed up was that 5% was the charge kept by gofundme. I thought that was a little high but needed to raise money quick and it seemed ok. I was wondering why the money they were keeping was more than 5% and how they were getting away with it...PayPal fees in addition to their 5%. They should have specified that. I'd probably have been alright with it. Now I just feel deceived. Having trouble getting them to verify my bank account to deposit funds too now as well.


Mar 06, 2012 by Davina

Agree with the others ... 5% and then PayPal fees ON TOP is too much


Feb 15, 2012 by Lloyd

An expensive PayPal widget. Should have just created my web page and saved on fees


Feb 06, 2012 by HH

Doesnt really have all the required features to make it worthy of the high fee IMO


worked

Jan 20, 2012 by RayJ

Has a really nice interface and does the job but I thought the 5% fee was pretty high for what it offers


Crowdfunding Websites , USA 1.9 4.0 14 14 Great idea but horrible site! Besides the fees, if you don't reach your goal, you don't get the money. We set it up for my brother's unexpected death for funeral costs and the goal
Fundraising / crowdfunding website Go Get Funding is our recommended website for raising money online. Fees are minimal, it's easy to use and they offer innovative social features. You can raise money for any cause, event or project.