GoFundMe Reviews

GoFundMe allows you to create personal fundraising pages for just about anything.

Have you had experience with GoFundMe? What do you think? Leave your comments below.

P.S. Please provide honest reviews and do not try to pump your own product / service. Reviews are analysed through various means including checking out the IP address, email address and more. This ensures only true opinions are being reflected! :)

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

needs to be more disclosure and tighter rules

Sep 30, 2016 by liz b

I friend recently told me about his cousin died of cancer and my friend sister (whom no one will speak to anymore) started a gofundme account. it raised a couple thousand for funeral expenses. she kept all the money and refused to give the deceased family member any of it. go fund had put the check in her name so she felt she was entitled to it. these stories are more common. first across the top of the page of any gofund story or account you click on it should state this is who open it, this is who it is for and this is who the check will be written to. if a check is not writtento the cause or family it was meant to help, giver be weary. Any go fund rep should have some sort of contact with the family it was set up for, not just the person setting it up. there needs to be protocol for hundreds or thousands of $ being handed over. rules needs to stated, signed and dated that any money not given to the stated cause or family will be considered fraud and they will be criminally prosecuted and or reported to the IRS for reimbursement of the funds (withholding tax refunds)
I feel real bad for my friend the family has no recourse because she has and spent the check.


Justice for Buster

Sep 13, 2016 by Adrianna

Go fund me refuses to release funds raised on my behalf for the intentions they were raised for. They have no contact phone number to reach anyone and the emails are a run around game. Pretty sad.


AWFUL Experience

Jun 25, 2016 by Cori S.

I will no longer campaign through GoFundMe because they work with WePay, a joke of a company. They're the absolute worst. They take money straight out of your account for the mistakes of someone else, unauthorized! They refuse to return it to you, or be understanding in any way. They'll send you an email telling you that they had already done so, not even giving you a chance to contest or ask why. $45.46 stolen by WePay from my personal bank account, and I'll never see it again. I guess I do have one thing to thank WePay for... Thank you for showing me that I should have never done business with you or ever again, and now I can warn others against doing the same. I have nothing good to say about this company. Unfair and money-hungry... The absolute worst experience. Worst part? GoFundMe would not help me at all in the situation. It's a shame that they work with WePay. They're the reason for my giving GoFundMe such a terrible rating.


Absolute Crap.

Jun 17, 2016 by Chris

First off, Go Fund Me takes 30 cents on every dollar. Second, No one will ever donate. I have spread my campaign all over Facebook and had a bunch of shares. Not one donation. The only way to get any donations is if you're sick or an animal that is sick. I saw a cat that needed a wheelchair raise over 30,000 in like 3 days. Come on.


Not strict enough rules

May 05, 2016 by Teresa Kratochvil

Too easy to cheat people out of their money my nephews money went to his ex girlfriend because she opened the go fund me when he was dying and she profitted from it didn't even help pay his funeral expenses


Weakness for donors, undisclosed

Mar 17, 2016 by Jerry

Made donation. Put in comment. Requested my name not be shown.
When posted, did show "anonymous", but comment was not shown.
Asked help from GofundMe.
Back:
"Currently, the option to have your name hidden, but a comment present isn't an option for the donations.

Wish I had known that.
Not disclosed prior to making a donation.

Seems simple enough.
(Anonymous user, with a comment.)
Glaring weakness in GoFundMe’s product/service.


go fund themselves

Feb 20, 2016 by nancy collins

My daughter went through gofundme to aid me in avoiding eviction from my apartment because I lost my job and had no funds to pay rent. We met the goal for my rent payment so at the time she went to transfer the generous donations sent by people...gofundme took 20% of the funds before they transferred the rest of the money. I had to borrow the rest from a friend. I would have understood should they have taken 5% or 10% but 20 seems extremely excessive for people in need. My daughter wanted to help her mother but it seems gofundme is a company that seeks out to fund themselves from vulnerable people.


Eyes wide open

Feb 02, 2016 by Joseph Jerkovich

I set up a fund for a friend diagnosed with cancer and though the whole procedure was easy enough to do as well as the collecting of donations, there was a rude surprise when i tried to withdraw the money. I thought I had researched on the site well enough to know what to expect but was frustrated when it actually occurred. I my case I did not wish to burden my friend with any part of the process and wanted to handle it on my own. As i went trough the process to set that up, suddenly things became complicated. even with back and forth email I was never given enough information at one time to know what to expect. When it became clear that the only way the money would be released was with authorization from my friend, I proceeded only to discover that my friend had to make a copy of an ID with him in it and address some additional requirements. I was mad that only till the end did I find out that my friend, dealing with his diagnosis and medical appointments had to comply with requests for him to meet their demands. My advise is to be fully aware of what you must do before, during and after the fund is initiated.


GoFundMe is amazingly responsive

Jan 18, 2016 by jJessica

This site has been more than responsive to every question, and has changed my family's outlook from Hopeless to Hopeful! Thank you GoFundMe. The only thing that I feel could help is that it would be nice for people upfront to know is that the $$ that they see isn't necessarily to gross amount that the recipient receives. Changes the donating perception


Read carefully

Jan 11, 2016 by S. TS

Fundraisers need to read all terms and conditions to make an informed decision about using GoFundMe. It seems OK though.
Donors need to be aware that not all requests for donations are giving you the whole truth. Research all aspects of the story. Eg. Medical- eg. People wanting money forrocedures covered by their Govt healthcare system.


Read the fine print; there are no free lunches

Jan 09, 2016 by sara baer

Those big number successes are few and far between.

I experienced most of the issues that have been shared here when a dear family member set up a campaign when life handed me the unacceptable.

GFM does discriminate, is easily used as a scam and you could be endangered if you share your name, and there is little you can do about it except to start another one without your name attached and let the people who tried to help you know what happened, but that anonymity costs your new campaign because then people don't trust it because of the pervasive scamming, so it's all the same.

They are not perfect communicators and there are assumptions and judgments with and without good cause.

The funds you raise are reduced by at least 10% by GFM/moneychanger before you get them plus the government does consider it income, so if you're in a 25% bracket, that's a 35+% loss or a 65% gain, depending on how you frame it.

Direct to Paypal costs 8%.

There is a need for a safe, genuine, straightforward way to do this that allows you to keep more of your donations, but I have not yet found it other than direct solicitation of cash from those you already know, and in many cases you've already done that or you wouldn't be here.

Prayers and best wishes to all in need who were inspired to try this because the majority of us do need the help and find it hard to ask, or others wouldn't be inspired to do it for us.


Gofundme

Dec 24, 2015 by Candace

I have used gofundme to raise now over $25,000 for 4 friends battling cancer. Sure, someone could use the site to scam, but to give it poor rates based on the few who do??? What about all the families it helps? I love gofundme! The total 7.9% taken is honest for the product. Easy website, easy viral social media exposure, and it has helped everyone's camapaign I have started greatly. 5 stars always!


DISCRIMINATES AGAINST CHRISTIANS

Dec 22, 2015 by NJ

If you are a christian, watch out. All you have to do is begin a campaign on your stance for your beliefs, and they will shut your account down. Search the story of the Kleins family.
Very sad, that this people that own this site want to control the Christians of America, and punish them for their Faith.
Don't support this site.


Nobody ever donates unless ur story is on the news

Dec 20, 2015 by teresa

I have a friend her and her husband and twin 4 yr olds lost everything a week before Christmas because of a house fire and not one donation . So either people are just that heartless or like i said get the news involved . Pretty sad these babies will go without a christmas because they werent on the news .


Excellent, but high fees

Dec 14, 2015 by Lauren

I found the site easy to use, and my campaign raised more than my goal in one day! The fees are very high, though, I may look for a more reasonably priced option.


Not horrible for me

Dec 12, 2015 by fsh011

I used it when we had a sudden death in the family and the process was pretty seamless. I ran into some trouble when I donated to a childhood friend who was using the site to run a scam. I was worried that I wouldn't get my money back, but after a few emails back and forth between customer service, they started processing my refund. I emailed them and they contacted me within a few minutes. I was super worried because you read about all these horror stories of GFM and their customer service, but my experience was rather positive.


GoFundMe refuse to communicate...

Dec 01, 2015 by Andrew van Ginkel

I am so sick of GoFundMe, I have complained for weeks about a scammer using their service, they simply ignore any reports I send. I have provided plenty evidence to prove the person is a crook, but GoFundMe just keeps letting him use their service, this has been going on since 2009, but still they allow this person to run a scam. Never ever will I trust them to act responsibly when it comes to running what could be great service.


If I needed help probably use it again.

Nov 28, 2015 by Carolyn

So for we have had no negativity. Money is sent on time and with only the amount agreed upon starting the fund. OUr site was visited many times but only family and close friends donated any money. Would I do it again. I don't know. Asking for help is not easy. I guess it depends on the situation.


Never again

Oct 10, 2015 by Diane Goulet

Worst site ever. I donated to a neighbour who had lost her husband in a car accident. The money was supposed to go toward her 2 young sons. The scumbag who started the account drained every last cent. The family received nothing.


This is a joke

Oct 09, 2015 by Yvonne Jandles

Someone started a campaign for my daughter without our knowledge and have given a totally false story to garner sympathy from donors. We contacted the person and asked them to remove the campaign and she still refuses to do it. I wonder where the money is going as we have not asked for this person's help. Although I reported it to GFM I was told that they would investigate and are not obliged to share the results of their findings. In the meantime our family is made to look like beggars when we have had nothing to do with this. My daughter is in fact a married woman who is living with her husband and his family but is made out to be a destitute in another country. Why won't GFM do anything about it and save innocent people from sending money to a cause for someone who is on their own glory mission to look like a knight in shining armour?


Crowdfunding Websites , USA 1.8 5.0 63 63 I friend recently told me about his cousin died of cancer and my friend sister (whom no one will speak to anymore) started a gofundme account. it raised a couple thousand for funer
Page:
1234
RECOMMENDED CROWDFUNDING WEBSITES:

GoGetFunding is our recommended website for personal / cause fundraising.

Kickstarter is recommended for creative all-or-nothing campaigns.

Crowdfunder.com is the place to go for equity crowdfunding.