GoFundMe Reviews

GoFundMe allows you to create personal fundraising pages for just about anything.

Have you had experience with GoFundMe? What do you think? Leave your comments below.

P.S. Please provide honest reviews and do not try to pump your own product / service. Reviews are analysed through various means including checking out the IP address, email address and more. This ensures only true opinions are being reflected! :)


Click here to submit your review.

Submit your review
* Required Field

Never again

Oct 10, 2015 by Diane Goulet

Worst site ever. I donated to a neighbour who had lost her husband in a car accident. The money was supposed to go toward her 2 young sons. The scumbag who started the account drained every last cent. The family received nothing.

This is a joke

Oct 09, 2015 by Yvonne Jandles

Someone started a campaign for my daughter without our knowledge and have given a totally false story to garner sympathy from donors. We contacted the person and asked them to remove the campaign and she still refuses to do it. I wonder where the money is going as we have not asked for this person's help. Although I reported it to GFM I was told that they would investigate and are not obliged to share the results of their findings. In the meantime our family is made to look like beggars when we have had nothing to do with this. My daughter is in fact a married woman who is living with her husband and his family but is made out to be a destitute in another country. Why won't GFM do anything about it and save innocent people from sending money to a cause for someone who is on their own glory mission to look like a knight in shining armour?

We want an answer

Sep 09, 2015 by Jm

No star sorry you took down my sisters campaign with no explaination why, we have violated none of your posted rules, its been over a week and no answer to her queries, no customer service, no phone number or live person to respond to our questions. Our campaign raised 1/3 of our goal in less than 2 days, we would appreciate at least knowing why you deemed her campaign unworthy?

Not helpful

Aug 29, 2015 by lj

I don't like gofundme.com. I was campaigning for funds for less fortunate children in the Philippines (http://www.gofundme.com/100-happysmiles) that would run all year round, unfortunately I had no enough donation for my $2000 target (only $50.00 was donated), so gofundme.com removed the donation url for that reason. I checked my account why, and their reason is because the donation did not reach $500.00. Because of this, I was not able to make anymore donation from where I embedded the donation code in my own website for a few more people to donate. The link was removed without prior notice, living me expecting it was working alright until I noticed the link did not exist anymore. I still have to try more crowdfunding sites that have no such policy and be more helpful to anybody seeking help.

Awful site!

Aug 27, 2015 by Gabs

Can I give them a zero rating? Right at the apex of our campaign they shut down our account without an explanation. Its been two days and email after email goes ignored. I don't know where the money that was donated to me is, or whether it will be returned to me or my donors. Their customer service only sends you generic emails and NEVER answer your questions. Has anyone dealt with the same? Any advise on how to proceed? Long story short DO NOT USE GO FUND ME!!

Does this even WORK?

May 17, 2015 by Penny

I don't think these things work, to be honest. I saw on Facebook a post that said that some girl in Toronto got "from Homeless to enough money to pay for Harvard" using gofundme.com but I'm beginning to wonder HOW. They say to network among those you know but if that would have EVER worked in my 40-something misspent years of living, it would have worked by now and I wouldn't be resorting to trying to ask strangers on the Internet for college money!! I mean, my schpiel basically says help me help get ASL certified to help DEAF PEOPLE out in the boondocks and still, NOTHING. NADA. NO dice. I mean, are you supposed to purposely target exactly those billionaires who WOULD help the Deaf, or something?! I even posted my link IN a bunch of deaf support groups on Facebook and STILL no dice. I may have to try to win the bloody lottery to pay for ASL interpreter training, for God's sake.


May 11, 2015 by anon

Go Fund me is a place where you can easily be scammed. And Go Fund Me helps them do it. I had someone write to me out of the blue on Facebook after I had posted some messages from the hospital about being very ill and asking for prayer. I did not know this person and they got on my friends list thru a FB group I had been on. Never bothered me in the past and suddenly wrote me saying they felt so bad for me and they wanted to start a Go Fund Me acct to help me out. I finally agreed to it but knew nothing about it. After a couple of days there was less than 200 bucks in in and I asked how I got the money out as I could use it for gas to doctors and for groceries. I found out this person had made the acct so only they could take money out and to make a long story short they never gave me a dime after I asked. I wrote to Go Fund Me and explained the situation and said my friends had donated money but I had no access to it and I did not know the person that started it and they were keeping the money and to please shut it down and send the money to me. They refused. They did eventually shut it down after I got a police report number and sent it to them. And they said they would refund anyone that asked but the people had to ask and say it was fraud since the recipient never got it. I think the organizer got away with close to $65 tho. At least I reported it before they got it all. But they could have prevented any funds going to the scammer had they immediately stopped funding the person and investigated and it took a couple of days. By that time she had taken money. Be very wary and unless you know the person do not allow anyone to use your name and do not donate to anyone unless you know the organizer or who they are. I do not recommend the site because they are very slow to stop scams or give the recipient the money. They protect the organizer who can very easily be scammers. You will never find out if they did anything to the scammer. They will not tell you.

Impossible to make donation

May 07, 2015 by Tom Impomeni

After trying a half dozen times to make my donation, the demon pay pal monster pissed me off so I just gave up. It is not enuff that they hit you up for a buck to run the fund, but they have just got to have you use pay pay and therefore will keep declining my card over and over. Well pay pay sucks, always has, and always will.


May 03, 2015 by Karen

I had no problem with this site and our money was paid two days after requested. I like that you can withdraw daily if you want but can continue to collect and the fundraising goal remains intake as does the total amount funded. Only suggestion is to include an editing option for when we post something !


May 03, 2015 by elizabeth mccoy

I seen the report on FOX NEWS!! You will fund child molesters...and and sex offenders..and convicted murders. but You won't allow Balimore, Md. Police to have a go fund me account..shame on you. I have a lot of friends who use GO Fund ME....but not ANYMORE!!!

go fund me sucks

May 02, 2015 by jguerrilla

IMAGINE THINKING THAT YOU CAN DECIDE GUILT BEFORE EVIDENCE IS. PRESENTED IN COURT...In America your innocent until proven guilty.. In the foreign land of go fund me your guilty perriod.

discrimination in the name of non discrimination

May 02, 2015 by ernie baker

Do you want to support a site that discriminates against people of faith? The 1st Amendment is under attack folks. The Kleins need support.

Ban Christians for helping other Christians

Apr 28, 2015 by Shawn Swanson

Shut down the site of the Christian Bakers that would not bake a cake for a gay wedding. Site was formed to help the persecuted Christians pay the ridiculous $135,000 judgement. Time to find an alternative funding site. This site has no integrity!

The wonderful people at Samaritan’s Purse Ministries have set up their own fundraising page to help the Klein family survive the horrible legal judgment.

Shut down the bakers account?

Apr 28, 2015 by David kellenberger

While they can disagree with anyone they should prevent someone from raising funds just because they follow their religious beliefs. Time for people to find an alternate funding site and stop using gofundme.


Apr 26, 2015 by so sad

So it's OK to discriminate against sweek cakes because you don't agree with their stance but its not OK for them???? talk about double standards!

A bigoted intolerant company

Apr 25, 2015 by Eric

GoFundMe is a bigoted intolerant company that discriminates against people of faith. They took down a fundraising campaign to help Aaron and Melissa Klein who formerly operated Sweet Cakes by Melissa. The state of Oregon informed the Kleins that they had to violate their consciences and religious beliefs and participate in a homosexual "wedding" or pay a huge fine which turned out to be $135,000.

No Customer Service Available

Apr 20, 2015 by Debra Hodges

I have been trying to withdrawal my funds for over a week! There is no one to actually talk with and they send "canned" responses to emails. I am ready to call my Oregon State Attorney Generals office.

The website is difficult to use or edit! Love the idea but there is no real human to talk with and their 800 number goes in circles. Totally frustrated with their lack of customer service!

GFM is Legit. What is better?

Mar 29, 2015 by Ellen

I read the reviews and now in quandry. What is getter crowdfunding method for a personal project?
I understand about necessity of fees but am reticent to set a goal, and yet not receive what has been donated until stated goal is attained.

Too good to be true

Mar 13, 2015 by Andrew

As a cancer patient last year, my friends set up a GoFundMe account to help offset my medical expenses. Not only does GFM take 5% of overall funds raised they also submit your account to the IRS to be taxed as a business entity come tax time. So, say you raised $400k. Some lucky bastard is going to get a tax form saying you owe taxes on $400k. If you really want to help, give money directly, don't used GFM.

Mar 03, 2015 by airrion

I'm wondering if we raised $1,655 why gofundme is trying to pay us $900, that's more than 7.9% I've emailed 3x and no one has responded also I've called severs numbers and still no respond.

Crowdfunding Websites , USA 1.7 5.0 45 45 Worst site ever. I donated to a neighbour who had lost her husband in a car accident. The money was supposed to go toward her 2 young sons. The scumbag who started the account dr

GoGetFunding is our recommended website for personal / cause fundraising.

Kickstarter is recommended for creative all-or-nothing campaigns.

Crowdfunder.com is the place to go for equity crowdfunding.