IndieGoGo Review

IndieGoGo offers those with an idea – creative, cause-related, or entrepreneurial – the tools to build a campaign and raise money.

Have you had experience with IndieGoGo? What do you think? Leave your comments below.

P.S. Please provide honest reviews and do not try to pump your own product / service. Reviews are analysed through various means including checking out the IP address, email address and more. Sorry to those of you that didn’t need to hear that, we just wanna make sure true opinions are being reflected! :)

 

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Indiegogo false claim of delivery

Jun 24, 2016 by Bob

I challenged non delivery of S Projector with Paypal.
Just received email from Paypal advising that delivery had been completed and that Paypal had been provided delivery details by Indiegogo.
This is a fraudulent claim by Indiegogo on delivery and Paypal has been hoodwinked by them as well.
Requested copy of delivery documents and upon receipt will refer to law enforcement for fraud and gaining financial benefit by deception.
Avoid Indiegogo and seek other opportunities elsewhere.


Indiegogo is scam website

Jun 16, 2016 by Akira

I contributed in Jan 2015, and for the sprojector, now the campaign owner has disappeared. Contacted Indiegogo but nothing they can do about it. We need to contact California/Attorney general (Kamala Harris) and start file the complaints.
here's what I got when I search in whois...
Admin Name: Eric Schell
Admin Organization: Indiegogo, Inc.
Admin Street: 965 Mission Street
Admin City: San Francisco
Admin State/Province: California
Admin Postal Code: 94103
Admin Country: US
Admin Phone: 1-866-641-4646


Dispute Indiegogo credit card charges

Jun 07, 2016 by aje

Ok everyone just call your credit card and ask them to open a dispute against the charge from Indiegogo for this campaign. First you get your money back, 2nd Indiegogo gets a chargeback fee of $10-$25 per incident, and 3rd if enough people dispute then Indiegogo may lose their merchant account and not be able to collect money from anyone for any campaign. Hopefully this wakes up the right people to do the right thing. I can’t believe a site like Indiegogo tolerates such scams. I actually did receive some of the items I invested in, but screwed on 3 other campaigns.


Indiegogo

May 19, 2016 by Valma Muir

Indiegogo is basically an "automated" virtual business. If you want to ask for help, just know that you will be dealing with nebulous emails and that is if you are lucky enough to get a response. The business is un-contactable. The telephone number is not answered by anyone and again it is purely automated. We are presently on Indiegogo but are seriously thinking of pulling out and rather going with a crowd funding platform that engages their clients and has real support.


TRULY AWFUL

May 14, 2016 by Silvia

Tried to contribute to an indiegogo campaign via paypal with no success. Many calls with paypal even had paypal watch the transaction from their end, the bank authorizes the transaction but it doesn't get completed on indiegogo's end. The screen asks me for a credit card number after I've logged in to paypal. Indiegogo's "customer happiness" team members are only available via email, they don't carefully read their emails so there is a lot of back and forth and repeating information, waiting a day in-between each email. They appear to have ZERO concern for those running campaigns. They don't answer their phones, it is just an outgoing message.
I had very high hopes for this endeavor and was thrilled to use my funds to help make projects I connect with come to life and instead I am disappointed and frustrated. Indiegogo has ruined crowdfunding for me.


Stay Away from Indiegogo in the UK

Apr 19, 2016 by Leigh

Do yourself a favour and stay away - especially in the UK.

Much alike many other of the comments below me I too contributed to a campaign on Indiegogo - https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/vomo-20mph-high-performance-electric-scooter#/

The delivery date of the perk has been constantly pushed back since September 2015, with no updates since January from the Campaigner despite multiple chases.

After contacting Indiegogo they are wiping their hands in the matter, urging me to contact the Campaigner directly to resolve this - surprise to no avail.

Since then I have contacted Action Fraud UK who have also explained that no concerns will be handed to the police as there is no evidence of fraud.

In addition I have contacted my Credit Card company for protection who have explained their contractual obligations were to send Indiegogo money, therefore there is no contractual obligation to the Campainer (quite rightly to be fair - I have put this for information only).

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) in the UK have also pretty much wiped their hands in the matter, where they explain that "whilst they do regulate peer to peer and equity based schemes, they consider them to be “high risk”. The FCA does not regulate any donation or reward crowdfunding." (source: http://www.actionfraud.police.uk/news/fraudsters-looking-to-utilise-crowdfunding-to-scam-people-mar15)

Personally I don't care about the money I've now written off the loss, but how on earth is this just and fair?


FRAUDULENT SITE!

Apr 05, 2016 by Bob Griswold

I contributed $30 to a campaign on Indiegogo that had already reached its funding goals on January 28, 2016. The shipping date for the product was listed as December 15, 2015 (and is still listed as December 15, 2015). Since it was January 28, 2016, I figured I would receive the product in a reasonable time. It is now April 4, 2016, and despite numerous inquiries to the campaign owner as well as Indiegogo itself, I have received exactly NOTHING - no replies to my messages, no product shipped, and no refund. This is clearly a FRAUD.


Appears to be a scam site.

Mar 31, 2016 by Paul

Sent my money for a product in January. Other than an immediate email response from Indiegogo acknowledging my "contribution" I have heard nothing from anyone. Sent emails to Indiegogo support. Their only comment was that they do not control the campaign owners and that I need to contact them directly via Facebook. The campaign page has been taken down and have heard nothing. Either the entire site is a scam or they simply enable scammers. Lesson learned.

STAY AWAY!


No safety at all, empty promisses

Mar 03, 2016 by Irfan

I wish I had checked up on the site properly before committing - see this site as example :

http://observer.com/2014/08/indiegogos-scampaign-problem-latest-crowdfunded-smartwatch-is-total-garbage/

I forked out my cash (not to mention my brothers too). I didnt receive my product, and when I tried to mail the support team at Indiegogo, it bounced back. But I directly copy and pasted the mail from there web site. Something is very wrong with this so called website, and its looking like its at the very minimum a poorly set up site which is misleading people into thinking they are buying an item by contributing. At the worse it may be an intentional scam ! Buyers beware.


What an awful site

Mar 01, 2016 by Keven Vicknair

I contributed to a scam campaign on indiegogo. I informed indiegogo and there are a multitude of comments on the site from other people scammed. But indiegogo refuses to take the campaign off. Their actions support the theory that they willingly allow and encourage scam campaigns.


Fake campaigner and Fraudulent people

Feb 07, 2016 by Muhammad

Hi,
I paid money through credit 9 months ago still haven't received anything. The campaign owner has disappeared into thin air. Banks can help and indiegogo came up with 2.5font size disclaimer from T&C's.

Fraud campaigner & Fraudulent website. Don't put your money at risk.

Muhammad


Scams all over the place

Dec 19, 2015 by Kas D

IndieGogo is full of scams. And at IndieGogo they don't care, they still make money with scams after all...
One advise: avoid IndieGogo! I've learned this the hard way, has cost me over 100 USD and the money is gone! IndieGogo refuses to take any action or inform people about scams, they only point to their terms of use claiming it's not their fault.


Worst service ever

Nov 14, 2015 by Richard

Worst Experience of my life. Supported a campaign that looked legit and read about their algorithm about security so I felt safe turns out the video on the campaign is a complete fake. Indiegogo does no seem interested in helping contributors when you complain you get a form letter.


Stay Away From Indiegogo

Sep 06, 2015 by Max Alford

If you make the mistake of giving Indiegogo your email address, you will not be able to unsubscribe. I've tried to unsubscribe but continue to get their scam advertising.
The vast majority of the reviews are single stars. And the reviews with more than one star are written by people who can't even punctuate sentences intelligibly.


Waste of time

Jul 29, 2015 by jeanette

I started a campaign and nothing happen , its a waste of time and emails from my inbox thanking or asking me to rate their service.
i just don't understand those success story they are advertising. i thought this will help me but instead it create more frustration .


Indiegogo Big Waste of Time

Jul 26, 2015 by Mike Jones

I recently started a campaign, ran it for 11 days, then shut it down today. It yielded "no" results at all. After contacting Indiegogo support, they wanted me to spend half my day on the computer with social media sites to improve my "gogo" factor. If I had that kind of time I would just create my own website. They are a big, BIG, waste of time !!!!


Indiegogo Hotbed for "Scam-Pains"

Jul 07, 2015 by David Faik

Don't touch these. Many cut and run scammers. No checks by the organizers. No mention of risks. Let anyone start a campaign without even validating the company exists, the location etc. DODGY AS #$%^


Indiegogo get bent

May 08, 2015 by Red

I made a contribution to the making of a movie thru this "Indiegogo" and they didn't bother to put my name on the list of people who donated, which is going to be shown when the credits roll at the end of the movie. I was one of the first to contribute, so I don't know why this is so. I sent them an email saying I want nothing to do with them any more, which they posted with the comments. I was stunned that they would do this, and was able to delete it, thank God. I don't know what they told the director about me, but I received an angry email from him about this whole situation, which made me feel awful. They raised very little money for his movie, raising only about 10 percent of what he needed, so I don't know why he would want anything to do with them either. I recently left a nice comment on a Youtube video of the artist the movie is going to be about. These Indiegogo people replied to me, "Thanks for sticking around." I was humiliated and disgusted, because I was NOT talking to them in any way, shape or form. Stay away from these people. You will not make your goal, and you will be treated like you're nothing.


Place to get scammed

Apr 19, 2015 by Hadi

Backed soap. Got scammed. Indiegogo does not want to help. Indiegogo is a platform for you to get scammed.


Avoid Indiegogo

Apr 18, 2015 by Max

Do not use this fundraising outfit. It is user unfriendly. Just try to unsubscribe after you make the mistake of giving them your email address.


Crowdfunding Websites , USA 1.4 5.0 64 64 I challenged non delivery of S Projector with Paypal.Just received email from Paypal advising that delivery had been completed and that Paypal had been provided delivery details
Page:
1234
RECOMMENDED CROWDFUNDING WEBSITES:

GoGetFunding is our recommended website for personal / cause fundraising.

Kickstarter is recommended for creative all-or-nothing campaigns.

Crowdfunder.com is the place to go for equity crowdfunding.