IndieGoGo Review

IndieGoGo offers those with an idea – creative, cause-related, or entrepreneurial – the tools to build a campaign and raise money.

Have you had experience with IndieGoGo? What do you think? Leave your comments below.

P.S. Please provide honest reviews and do not try to pump your own product / service. Reviews are analysed through various means including checking out the IP address, email address and more. Sorry to those of you that didn’t need to hear that, we just wanna make sure true opinions are being reflected! :)

 

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Ripped off 2

Oct 28, 2016 by Rene M. Coutu

The long and short is the order was left sitting in a warehouse until the salesmanager at Inergysolar found it and shipped it. I got the first part of the order and dropped a dispute from my CC and they are claiming they didn't get paid even though it shows on my account and they are withholding my solar panels. I'm out $660 instead of $4260 Thank U Inergy Solar


Ripped off from the indiegetgogo

Oct 28, 2016 by Rene M. Coutu

I was led to this website via a googlesearch for solar sulutions and the Kodiak Gold link was the best bang for the buck I clicked on the link and ordered 2 of these systems, The link says Generator and ac chargers ship immediatly, that was 10/9. 10/12 still no shipping notice and I call my CC company to ask what they can do. they say to dispute the charges and keep trying to contact vendor. after 3 days of emails from their site and phone calls to their toll free line


INDIEGOGO The new wave scammers !

Oct 18, 2016 by emil

One star because you have no other way to give them -100 stars.
Nice photos and story on each item , garnished with a lot of lies , Reason = scamm your money.
I lost 133$ with them for one product, it seems the they work with all kind of scammers, and share the money .
After you pay and wait the delivery date, they delay you week after week ,because, in fact they have nothing to deliver, they only cash the money PERIOD.
I wonder how is that possible in the USA ?
I made one complaint in USA to B@B sites but it seems no one care about it....
I think that from this "legal" scamm a lot of people have to win black money.Press, gov etc


IndieGoGo is a SCAM!

Oct 10, 2016 by Sandra Hahn

IndieGoGo is a SCAM - do not pay any money to this operation as you can just as well throw those dollars in the trash!


Another bad review

Oct 02, 2016 by Stephen

None existent customer service. Great sight if you want to take money off people not very good if you actually want something for your donation. Stick with kick-starter in future.


They suck!

Sep 05, 2016 by nancy tracchia

Keep away!!!!!! They are just all a scam!


still waiting for refund

Aug 27, 2016 by Rich

I donated to MY OWN Campaign and 2 months after it is closed they still have not refunded my $1,0000...clearly a SCAM site....stay away!


Just DON'T do it!

Jul 02, 2016 by Phil

I have contributed to a few campaigns now and so far all but the first one failed to deliver. I think the fact that the first one did deliver lulled me into a false sense of security; even though what I actually received was rather sub par! But by far and away the worst (most expensive) campaign I contributed to was for a 3D printer (Rapide 3D).. Initially there were lots of updates, pictures and upgrades you could opt for at additional cost from the campaign, Indiegogo had them on their "forever funding" program and the campaign had far exceeded its funding goal. What could go wrong? Well go wrong they did, delay after delay, excuse upon excuse.. even after the campaign owner had asked for and received funds for shipping! Which was for $600 on top of the $2K+ that had been taken for the printer! Indiegogo just fob you off and tell you to get in touch with the campaign owner, PayPal don't reimburse you even when some of the items are within their protection time frame (because of all the delays PayPal's 120 day protection was far exceeded for most items) and now they don't even offer protection for crowd funding sites. That should tell you all you need to know! In the UK you lose your section 75 protection that you get with a credit card even if your payment comes from your credit card and then through PayPal to a campaign owner; as PayPal becomes a third party, so your protection is null and void. Needless to say, I don't use them as a payment method for ANYTHING now either, why would you? Anyway, very expensive lesson, but if someone reads this and decides not to be tempted; at least I'll have done some good.


Indiegogo false claim of delivery

Jun 24, 2016 by Bob

I challenged non delivery of S Projector with Paypal.
Just received email from Paypal advising that delivery had been completed and that Paypal had been provided delivery details by Indiegogo.
This is a fraudulent claim by Indiegogo on delivery and Paypal has been hoodwinked by them as well.
Requested copy of delivery documents and upon receipt will refer to law enforcement for fraud and gaining financial benefit by deception.
Avoid Indiegogo and seek other opportunities elsewhere.


Indiegogo is scam website

Jun 16, 2016 by Akira

I contributed in Jan 2015, and for the sprojector, now the campaign owner has disappeared. Contacted Indiegogo but nothing they can do about it. We need to contact California/Attorney general (Kamala Harris) and start file the complaints.
here's what I got when I search in whois...
Admin Name: Eric Schell
Admin Organization: Indiegogo, Inc.
Admin Street: 965 Mission Street
Admin City: San Francisco
Admin State/Province: California
Admin Postal Code: 94103
Admin Country: US
Admin Phone: 1-866-641-4646


Dispute Indiegogo credit card charges

Jun 07, 2016 by aje

Ok everyone just call your credit card and ask them to open a dispute against the charge from Indiegogo for this campaign. First you get your money back, 2nd Indiegogo gets a chargeback fee of $10-$25 per incident, and 3rd if enough people dispute then Indiegogo may lose their merchant account and not be able to collect money from anyone for any campaign. Hopefully this wakes up the right people to do the right thing. I can’t believe a site like Indiegogo tolerates such scams. I actually did receive some of the items I invested in, but screwed on 3 other campaigns.


Indiegogo

May 19, 2016 by Valma Muir

Indiegogo is basically an "automated" virtual business. If you want to ask for help, just know that you will be dealing with nebulous emails and that is if you are lucky enough to get a response. The business is un-contactable. The telephone number is not answered by anyone and again it is purely automated. We are presently on Indiegogo but are seriously thinking of pulling out and rather going with a crowd funding platform that engages their clients and has real support.


TRULY AWFUL

May 14, 2016 by Silvia

Tried to contribute to an indiegogo campaign via paypal with no success. Many calls with paypal even had paypal watch the transaction from their end, the bank authorizes the transaction but it doesn't get completed on indiegogo's end. The screen asks me for a credit card number after I've logged in to paypal. Indiegogo's "customer happiness" team members are only available via email, they don't carefully read their emails so there is a lot of back and forth and repeating information, waiting a day in-between each email. They appear to have ZERO concern for those running campaigns. They don't answer their phones, it is just an outgoing message.
I had very high hopes for this endeavor and was thrilled to use my funds to help make projects I connect with come to life and instead I am disappointed and frustrated. Indiegogo has ruined crowdfunding for me.


Stay Away from Indiegogo in the UK

Apr 19, 2016 by Leigh

Do yourself a favour and stay away - especially in the UK.

Much alike many other of the comments below me I too contributed to a campaign on Indiegogo - https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/vomo-20mph-high-performance-electric-scooter#/

The delivery date of the perk has been constantly pushed back since September 2015, with no updates since January from the Campaigner despite multiple chases.

After contacting Indiegogo they are wiping their hands in the matter, urging me to contact the Campaigner directly to resolve this - surprise to no avail.

Since then I have contacted Action Fraud UK who have also explained that no concerns will be handed to the police as there is no evidence of fraud.

In addition I have contacted my Credit Card company for protection who have explained their contractual obligations were to send Indiegogo money, therefore there is no contractual obligation to the Campainer (quite rightly to be fair - I have put this for information only).

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) in the UK have also pretty much wiped their hands in the matter, where they explain that "whilst they do regulate peer to peer and equity based schemes, they consider them to be “high risk”. The FCA does not regulate any donation or reward crowdfunding." (source: http://www.actionfraud.police.uk/news/fraudsters-looking-to-utilise-crowdfunding-to-scam-people-mar15)

Personally I don't care about the money I've now written off the loss, but how on earth is this just and fair?


FRAUDULENT SITE!

Apr 05, 2016 by Bob Griswold

I contributed $30 to a campaign on Indiegogo that had already reached its funding goals on January 28, 2016. The shipping date for the product was listed as December 15, 2015 (and is still listed as December 15, 2015). Since it was January 28, 2016, I figured I would receive the product in a reasonable time. It is now April 4, 2016, and despite numerous inquiries to the campaign owner as well as Indiegogo itself, I have received exactly NOTHING - no replies to my messages, no product shipped, and no refund. This is clearly a FRAUD.


Appears to be a scam site.

Mar 31, 2016 by Paul

Sent my money for a product in January. Other than an immediate email response from Indiegogo acknowledging my "contribution" I have heard nothing from anyone. Sent emails to Indiegogo support. Their only comment was that they do not control the campaign owners and that I need to contact them directly via Facebook. The campaign page has been taken down and have heard nothing. Either the entire site is a scam or they simply enable scammers. Lesson learned.

STAY AWAY!


No safety at all, empty promisses

Mar 03, 2016 by Irfan

I wish I had checked up on the site properly before committing - see this site as example :

http://observer.com/2014/08/indiegogos-scampaign-problem-latest-crowdfunded-smartwatch-is-total-garbage/

I forked out my cash (not to mention my brothers too). I didnt receive my product, and when I tried to mail the support team at Indiegogo, it bounced back. But I directly copy and pasted the mail from there web site. Something is very wrong with this so called website, and its looking like its at the very minimum a poorly set up site which is misleading people into thinking they are buying an item by contributing. At the worse it may be an intentional scam ! Buyers beware.


What an awful site

Mar 01, 2016 by Keven Vicknair

I contributed to a scam campaign on indiegogo. I informed indiegogo and there are a multitude of comments on the site from other people scammed. But indiegogo refuses to take the campaign off. Their actions support the theory that they willingly allow and encourage scam campaigns.


Fake campaigner and Fraudulent people

Feb 07, 2016 by Muhammad

Hi,
I paid money through credit 9 months ago still haven't received anything. The campaign owner has disappeared into thin air. Banks can help and indiegogo came up with 2.5font size disclaimer from T&C's.

Fraud campaigner & Fraudulent website. Don't put your money at risk.

Muhammad


Scams all over the place

Dec 19, 2015 by Kas D

IndieGogo is full of scams. And at IndieGogo they don't care, they still make money with scams after all...
One advise: avoid IndieGogo! I've learned this the hard way, has cost me over 100 USD and the money is gone! IndieGogo refuses to take any action or inform people about scams, they only point to their terms of use claiming it's not their fault.


Crowdfunding Websites , USA 1.3 5.0 72 72 The long and short is the order was left sitting in a warehouse until the salesmanager at Inergysolar found it and shipped it. I got the first part of the order and dropped a dispu
Page:
1234
RECOMMENDED CROWDFUNDING WEBSITES:

GoGetFunding is our recommended website for personal / cause fundraising.

Kickstarter is recommended for creative all-or-nothing campaigns.

Crowdfunder.com is the place to go for equity crowdfunding.