IndieGoGo Review

IndieGoGo offers those with an idea – creative, cause-related, or entrepreneurial – the tools to build a campaign and raise money.

Have you had experience with IndieGoGo? What do you think? Leave your comments below.

P.S. Please provide honest reviews and do not try to pump your own product / service. Reviews are analysed through various means including checking out the IP address, email address and more. Sorry to those of you that didn’t need to hear that, we just wanna make sure true opinions are being reflected! :)

 

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Indiegogo Big Waste of Time

Jul 26, 2015 by Mike Jones

I recently started a campaign, ran it for 11 days, then shut it down today. It yielded "no" results at all. After contacting Indiegogo support, they wanted me to spend half my day on the computer with social media sites to improve my "gogo" factor. If I had that kind of time I would just create my own website. They are a big, BIG, waste of time !!!!


Indiegogo Hotbed for "Scam-Pains"

Jul 07, 2015 by David Faik

Don't touch these. Many cut and run scammers. No checks by the organizers. No mention of risks. Let anyone start a campaign without even validating the company exists, the location etc. DODGY AS #$%^


Indiegogo get bent

May 08, 2015 by Red

I made a contribution to the making of a movie thru this "Indiegogo" and they didn't bother to put my name on the list of people who donated, which is going to be shown when the credits roll at the end of the movie. I was one of the first to contribute, so I don't know why this is so. I sent them an email saying I want nothing to do with them any more, which they posted with the comments. I was stunned that they would do this, and was able to delete it, thank God. I don't know what they told the director about me, but I received an angry email from him about this whole situation, which made me feel awful. They raised very little money for his movie, raising only about 10 percent of what he needed, so I don't know why he would want anything to do with them either. I recently left a nice comment on a Youtube video of the artist the movie is going to be about. These Indiegogo people replied to me, "Thanks for sticking around." I was humiliated and disgusted, because I was NOT talking to them in any way, shape or form. Stay away from these people. You will not make your goal, and you will be treated like you're nothing.


Place to get scammed

Apr 19, 2015 by Hadi

Backed soap. Got scammed. Indiegogo does not want to help. Indiegogo is a platform for you to get scammed.


Avoid Indiegogo

Apr 18, 2015 by Max

Do not use this fundraising outfit. It is user unfriendly. Just try to unsubscribe after you make the mistake of giving them your email address.


Common Sense is ESSENTIAL IRL

Apr 16, 2015 by Acidalia

I ran a 2 week campaign it was successful but I asked for an extension because we were doing so well. Mine was for personal stuff in the video/ art category. All of my sponsors were familiar with me from my online web series and I did a lot of advertising through that as well as my social media accounts. I met 130% of my goal and I haven't received my funds yet but I have received an email from Indiegogo telling me they have been released to my bank and I should expect them by the 21st. Which is 12 days from the end of my campaign and was expected. I see so many complaints here but 90% of them are null. If you donated to a cause without looking into the company that's your fault not indiegogo. If you read the TOS it tells you everything you need to know. Yes it sucks getting ripped off and not receiving your perk. Would you go up to a guy on the street with a bunch of pictures of his merchandise and a huge story and just hand him $100 in good faith for him to send you your item? Probably not. Indiegogo is a crowdfunding marketplace don't treat it any different it's not a store and every person selling their ideas on there can be just as shady as a marketplace man selling you a genie in a bottle. C'mon! As for the campaigners I see some complaints from a couple years ago and I will say the site has improved since then. I haven't had any isssues with bugginess or support. I also did not opt to use paypal. To those of you complaining about not receiving funds after you ended your campaign BEFORE the deadline... Seriously ?? Indiegogo isn't your grandpa lending you money for your serious life events, their not your neighbor paying you to do some work for them and they'll pay you in advance. What kind of world do you live in where you expect to be paid early? Did you read the TOS before you signed up? If not that is on you, you lost money because of actions you took. Indiegogo didn't fail you here. The people who are complaining about not getting exposure ???? Welcome to the world of business! You're product may be absolutely the BEST, but if you don't know how to market, well you're S.O.L. Indiegogo does not guarentee marketing for you. If you market yourself well you don't need any help from their landing page. Further more if you do market yourself well, you'll have a chance to be one of the big dogs and possibly meet 1000x your goal. Thats the wonderful part of this. I suggest reading up and learning the best way to do a campaign before just jumping into it. I'm not a professional, I am just a girl who set up a campaign and it worked. I'm just sayin' quit your bitchin'.


Buggy site for users

Apr 05, 2015 by e stanton

Not possible to rate this site low enough. Their site, for building and launching, is very buggy, the tools do not work, they are not helpful at all. My project is legit, yet their buggy site does not allow updates and other prep for launch.They keep dodging the issues.Past experience was mixed, after a while they were partly helpful, but the site is very buggy.


UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES

Mar 23, 2015 by Charles Murray

Folks, do NOT use Indiegogo. I'm out over $200 for a product I was ensured was production ready but now am told will never come and here's a refund of 25% of the money pledged. Indiegogo takes NO responsibility for this scam and it's clear the whole thing was fraud plain and simple. Stick with other crowdfunding sites, but NEVER Indiegogo unless it's just charity money you're giving away.


Absolutely the WORST

Mar 19, 2015 by Dianna

You are lucky if you get any of your funds out of this very rip off and unethical organization. I had to end my campaign early due to a financial emergency and they would not send me my money. I had input both PayPal and bank accounts even though I would hesitate to give these crooks my bank account information. I ended up doing two BBB complaints and the Better Business Bureau doesn't even care about all the complaints because Indiegogo pays them to be a preferred provider. My donors were so angry and got nothing but scam emails when they tried to complain. NEVER use this company! The complainers here are totally right.


Nov 15, 2014 by Edward

The site of Indiegogo at least suggests the campaigns they are promoting are trustworthy, No doubt many are, no doubt also many are not. There is no serious checking of the campaigns, I know of a campaign that told the sponsors it was all for a good cause; the money went into the pocket of the guys that set up the campaign. Obviously, less campaigns means less money for Indiegogo. Is that the reason they don't check or is it just a lack of responsibility? One cannot be sure that the claims made in the different campaigns are true and valid and therefor, better not go for it.
The one star I have to give in order to get this published is in fact one too many.


Stay away from Indiegogo

Oct 07, 2014 by Trem F

I would give a negative rating if it was possible. Too many scampaigns are allowed to run through Indiegogo with no protection for the funders and when multiple people complained about 1 scampaign I recently funded and show proof that people have been purposely mislead and over $300,000 has been raised for a product that will not be released they get the same responses but nothing actually happens. So long as Indiegogo gets their money then they are happy. One big scam site with one or two legit campaigns. I will never trust anything on Indiegogo again which is unfortunate for other legitimate campaigns.


Avoid Indiegogo

Sep 30, 2014 by Tiffany Mollis

Wish I could rate them zero. They treated my friend and his campaign horribly! Also, even though he had put a year and a half of effort into the project, he was failing miserably because unless your campaign gets a ton of donations no one will ever, ever see it because it will be buried under thousands of other campaigns. When he complained they froze his campaign and then asked him to submit a ton of documents! Horrible people at Indiegogo!


Some may have scammed my debit card

Aug 27, 2014 by David

I placed my first contribution through IndieGoGo on 8/11/14 on my debit card. I live in Texas. The next day someone went in and changed the address on my debit card to Chicago. I only found out when another online purchase wouldn't go through as the ZIP code was not correct. I don't know it was IndieGoGo, but the time frame makes me very suspicious.

If you have used a Debit Card, best check with your bank!


Contributors forced to open PayPal account

Aug 03, 2014 by Kevin Sweeney

My experience trying to run a campaign with Indiegogo has been nothing short of horrible. First of all, I was told that I must have a PayPal balance equal to or greater than the amount a contributor wants to donate. OK, that seems pretty bad but I was gullible enough to put money into my Paypal account and let it sit there idle. Then contributors who didn't have a PayPal account were forced to open one for "security" reasons. Indiegogo has no real customer support. You send off an email, hope for a response within 24 hours and then a canned, completely irrelevant response. Searches can't find my project, contributors who don't want a PayPal account get their credit card info stolen by PayPal even though they back out of the transaction. This site appears to be nothing but a way for PayPal to sign up new customers. If I could rate Indiegogo a zero I would.


Indiegogo lets scammer start 3rd campaign

Jul 22, 2014 by S.Mig

I backed a project's 2nd campaign called smarty ring. It was supposed to give you notifications, time and alerts on your ring. The 1st campaign raised $102,000 so they ran a 2nd and got $289,000. Smarty ring never produced anything, no updates and refuses to answer any of their backers. Indiegogo refused to do anything and then AMAZINGLY let them start a 3rd campaign to screw over a new bunch of suckers. They don't care if a campaign creates a scam as long as they get their cut! STAY AWAY FROM INDIEGOGO, THEY DON'T CARE WHEN YOU LOSE YOUR MONEY!!


Indiegogo refuses to release Funds

Jun 28, 2014 by Anita Wills

They are the worse Crow Funding Source out there and are continually changing the rules. I set up a Campaign on Indiegogo after carefully looking over their requirements. Within one day the goal was met and I was told the money would be forwarded to my account. I waited and nothing, so I filled out their comments form. Then I got a response that I needed to fill in my bank account information. I told them that the money was to come through paypal which was approved, and they did not respond. Then I called their (hard to find), phone number and got a voice mail. No one has returned the phone call but I did send another message. This time they told me because the donation came through a credit card I needed to have a Bank Account. So I gave them my Bank Account Information and it was accepted but the funds have yet to be transferred. I also filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and am about to file a consumer complaint in California (where they are located). This is the worst crowd funder out there and I will never use them again, nor refer them to anyone else. They are drawing interest on the money that was donated to my campaign, and have already taken their fees out.


SIGMO this pal! nostar4u!

May 27, 2014 by blair

"Talk and understand 25 languages" anybody else in on this one? Occasionally I get a email, it's been a year+, they send mechanical renderings of "product"! But!!!look at the header! "Talk and understand 25 languages" (with a plastic box smaller than your phone, you pick a language, talk into it!...press a button-other person listens- they speak their language into box blablabla.....what a frigging hook yes!? I fell for it "hook, line and stinker"! Never again, not anyone I know, then not anyone they know, then!!...lets get this frigging train rolling'!! funk'em! ....ya'fungas among us.


They'd receive a negative star rating if it was available

May 05, 2014 by J Dub

I thought the idea of a crowd funding group that didn't require the hoops of Kickstarter to be a great platform to get ideas and products moving. Seems it done just to get more people to put their ideas out there, get the supporters, and then pull the campaign after people have already sent their money. No way to get a hold of the campaigner so it looks like I'm out the money. My bad - should have read the site reviews.


Total Fraudsters

Apr 16, 2014 by Deborah Sims

Please read the other negative reviews on this page and do not send your money to these fraudsters. They will take it and then not pass it on to your intended recipient. I sent £50 to my niece in December 2013 and 5 months later she has still not received it. Indiegogo refuse to enter into any discussions and keep telling me it has been paid into my niece's nominated bank account - it hasn't. I am now looking into ways of securing a refund but it seems to be quite complicated - any advice gratefully received. Thank you.


Captain Canuck scam

Apr 14, 2014 by Jonathan

My experience through the Captain Canuck Webseries campaign taught me that anyone can take your money and not deliver on perks. If that happens, short of a civil lawsuit, you're out of luck. There is nothing protecting the contributer.
Early October we we're told that all the perks have arrived and will be delivered in two weeks. Month after month we were given excuses as to why the perks had not been delivered. Then in December we were told that the campaign was waiting for the delivery of one perk. Again, the following months we were told that delivery will come within the next week or two. It is now mid April and we were told that all the perks were delivered three weeks ago. With the exception of a smattering of people saying they got their perks, few have actually been received.
What a complete rip off. Until Indiegogo and other crowdfunding sites get their act together, I will never contribute again.


Crowdfunding Websites , USA 1.4 5.0 49 49 I recently started a campaign, ran it for 11 days, then shut it down today. It yielded "no" results at all. After contacting Indiegogo support, they wanted me to spend half my day
Page:
123
RECOMMENDED CROWDFUNDING WEBSITES:

GoGetFunding is our recommended website for personal / cause fundraising.

Kickstarter is recommended for creative all-or-nothing campaigns.

Crowdfunder.com is the place to go for equity crowdfunding.