IndieGoGo Review

IndieGoGo offers those with an idea – creative, cause-related, or entrepreneurial – the tools to build a campaign and raise money.

Have you had experience with IndieGoGo? What do you think? Leave your comments below.

P.S. Please provide honest reviews and do not try to pump your own product / service. Reviews are analysed through various means including checking out the IP address, email address and more. Sorry to those of you that didn’t need to hear that, we just wanna make sure true opinions are being reflected! :)

 

 

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Common Sense is ESSENTIAL IRL

Apr 16, 2015 by Acidalia

I ran a 2 week campaign it was successful but I asked for an extension because we were doing so well. Mine was for personal stuff in the video/ art category. All of my sponsors were familiar with me from my online web series and I did a lot of advertising through that as well as my social media accounts. I met 130% of my goal and I haven't received my funds yet but I have received an email from Indiegogo telling me they have been released to my bank and I should expect them by the 21st. Which is 12 days from the end of my campaign and was expected. I see so many complaints here but 90% of them are null. If you donated to a cause without looking into the company that's your fault not indiegogo. If you read the TOS it tells you everything you need to know. Yes it sucks getting ripped off and not receiving your perk. Would you go up to a guy on the street with a bunch of pictures of his merchandise and a huge story and just hand him $100 in good faith for him to send you your item? Probably not. Indiegogo is a crowdfunding marketplace don't treat it any different it's not a store and every person selling their ideas on there can be just as shady as a marketplace man selling you a genie in a bottle. C'mon! As for the campaigners I see some complaints from a couple years ago and I will say the site has improved since then. I haven't had any isssues with bugginess or support. I also did not opt to use paypal. To those of you complaining about not receiving funds after you ended your campaign BEFORE the deadline... Seriously ?? Indiegogo isn't your grandpa lending you money for your serious life events, their not your neighbor paying you to do some work for them and they'll pay you in advance. What kind of world do you live in where you expect to be paid early? Did you read the TOS before you signed up? If not that is on you, you lost money because of actions you took. Indiegogo didn't fail you here. The people who are complaining about not getting exposure ???? Welcome to the world of business! You're product may be absolutely the BEST, but if you don't know how to market, well you're S.O.L. Indiegogo does not guarentee marketing for you. If you market yourself well you don't need any help from their landing page. Further more if you do market yourself well, you'll have a chance to be one of the big dogs and possibly meet 1000x your goal. Thats the wonderful part of this. I suggest reading up and learning the best way to do a campaign before just jumping into it. I'm not a professional, I am just a girl who set up a campaign and it worked. I'm just sayin' quit your bitchin'.


Buggy site for users

Apr 05, 2015 by e stanton

Not possible to rate this site low enough. Their site, for building and launching, is very buggy, the tools do not work, they are not helpful at all. My project is legit, yet their buggy site does not allow updates and other prep for launch.They keep dodging the issues.Past experience was mixed, after a while they were partly helpful, but the site is very buggy.


UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES

Mar 23, 2015 by Charles Murray

Folks, do NOT use Indiegogo. I'm out over $200 for a product I was ensured was production ready but now am told will never come and here's a refund of 25% of the money pledged. Indiegogo takes NO responsibility for this scam and it's clear the whole thing was fraud plain and simple. Stick with other crowdfunding sites, but NEVER Indiegogo unless it's just charity money you're giving away.


Absolutely the WORST

Mar 19, 2015 by Dianna

You are lucky if you get any of your funds out of this very rip off and unethical organization. I had to end my campaign early due to a financial emergency and they would not send me my money. I had input both PayPal and bank accounts even though I would hesitate to give these crooks my bank account information. I ended up doing two BBB complaints and the Better Business Bureau doesn't even care about all the complaints because Indiegogo pays them to be a preferred provider. My donors were so angry and got nothing but scam emails when they tried to complain. NEVER use this company! The complainers here are totally right.


Nov 15, 2014 by Edward

The site of Indiegogo at least suggests the campaigns they are promoting are trustworthy, No doubt many are, no doubt also many are not. There is no serious checking of the campaigns, I know of a campaign that told the sponsors it was all for a good cause; the money went into the pocket of the guys that set up the campaign. Obviously, less campaigns means less money for Indiegogo. Is that the reason they don't check or is it just a lack of responsibility? One cannot be sure that the claims made in the different campaigns are true and valid and therefor, better not go for it.
The one star I have to give in order to get this published is in fact one too many.


Stay away from Indiegogo

Oct 07, 2014 by Trem F

I would give a negative rating if it was possible. Too many scampaigns are allowed to run through Indiegogo with no protection for the funders and when multiple people complained about 1 scampaign I recently funded and show proof that people have been purposely mislead and over $300,000 has been raised for a product that will not be released they get the same responses but nothing actually happens. So long as Indiegogo gets their money then they are happy. One big scam site with one or two legit campaigns. I will never trust anything on Indiegogo again which is unfortunate for other legitimate campaigns.


Avoid Indiegogo

Sep 30, 2014 by Tiffany Mollis

Wish I could rate them zero. They treated my friend and his campaign horribly! Also, even though he had put a year and a half of effort into the project, he was failing miserably because unless your campaign gets a ton of donations no one will ever, ever see it because it will be buried under thousands of other campaigns. When he complained they froze his campaign and then asked him to submit a ton of documents! Horrible people at Indiegogo!


Some may have scammed my debit card

Aug 27, 2014 by David

I placed my first contribution through IndieGoGo on 8/11/14 on my debit card. I live in Texas. The next day someone went in and changed the address on my debit card to Chicago. I only found out when another online purchase wouldn't go through as the ZIP code was not correct. I don't know it was IndieGoGo, but the time frame makes me very suspicious.

If you have used a Debit Card, best check with your bank!


Contributors forced to open PayPal account

Aug 03, 2014 by Kevin Sweeney

My experience trying to run a campaign with Indiegogo has been nothing short of horrible. First of all, I was told that I must have a PayPal balance equal to or greater than the amount a contributor wants to donate. OK, that seems pretty bad but I was gullible enough to put money into my Paypal account and let it sit there idle. Then contributors who didn't have a PayPal account were forced to open one for "security" reasons. Indiegogo has no real customer support. You send off an email, hope for a response within 24 hours and then a canned, completely irrelevant response. Searches can't find my project, contributors who don't want a PayPal account get their credit card info stolen by PayPal even though they back out of the transaction. This site appears to be nothing but a way for PayPal to sign up new customers. If I could rate Indiegogo a zero I would.


Indiegogo lets scammer start 3rd campaign

Jul 22, 2014 by S.Mig

I backed a project's 2nd campaign called smarty ring. It was supposed to give you notifications, time and alerts on your ring. The 1st campaign raised $102,000 so they ran a 2nd and got $289,000. Smarty ring never produced anything, no updates and refuses to answer any of their backers. Indiegogo refused to do anything and then AMAZINGLY let them start a 3rd campaign to screw over a new bunch of suckers. They don't care if a campaign creates a scam as long as they get their cut! STAY AWAY FROM INDIEGOGO, THEY DON'T CARE WHEN YOU LOSE YOUR MONEY!!


Indiegogo refuses to release Funds

Jun 28, 2014 by Anita Wills

They are the worse Crow Funding Source out there and are continually changing the rules. I set up a Campaign on Indiegogo after carefully looking over their requirements. Within one day the goal was met and I was told the money would be forwarded to my account. I waited and nothing, so I filled out their comments form. Then I got a response that I needed to fill in my bank account information. I told them that the money was to come through paypal which was approved, and they did not respond. Then I called their (hard to find), phone number and got a voice mail. No one has returned the phone call but I did send another message. This time they told me because the donation came through a credit card I needed to have a Bank Account. So I gave them my Bank Account Information and it was accepted but the funds have yet to be transferred. I also filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and am about to file a consumer complaint in California (where they are located). This is the worst crowd funder out there and I will never use them again, nor refer them to anyone else. They are drawing interest on the money that was donated to my campaign, and have already taken their fees out.


SIGMO this pal! nostar4u!

May 27, 2014 by blair

"Talk and understand 25 languages" anybody else in on this one? Occasionally I get a email, it's been a year+, they send mechanical renderings of "product"! But!!!look at the header! "Talk and understand 25 languages" (with a plastic box smaller than your phone, you pick a language, talk into it!...press a button-other person listens- they speak their language into box blablabla.....what a frigging hook yes!? I fell for it "hook, line and stinker"! Never again, not anyone I know, then not anyone they know, then!!...lets get this frigging train rolling'!! funk'em! ....ya'fungas among us.


They'd receive a negative star rating if it was available

May 05, 2014 by J Dub

I thought the idea of a crowd funding group that didn't require the hoops of Kickstarter to be a great platform to get ideas and products moving. Seems it done just to get more people to put their ideas out there, get the supporters, and then pull the campaign after people have already sent their money. No way to get a hold of the campaigner so it looks like I'm out the money. My bad - should have read the site reviews.


Total Fraudsters

Apr 16, 2014 by Deborah Sims

Please read the other negative reviews on this page and do not send your money to these fraudsters. They will take it and then not pass it on to your intended recipient. I sent £50 to my niece in December 2013 and 5 months later she has still not received it. Indiegogo refuse to enter into any discussions and keep telling me it has been paid into my niece's nominated bank account - it hasn't. I am now looking into ways of securing a refund but it seems to be quite complicated - any advice gratefully received. Thank you.


Captain Canuck scam

Apr 14, 2014 by Jonathan

My experience through the Captain Canuck Webseries campaign taught me that anyone can take your money and not deliver on perks. If that happens, short of a civil lawsuit, you're out of luck. There is nothing protecting the contributer.
Early October we we're told that all the perks have arrived and will be delivered in two weeks. Month after month we were given excuses as to why the perks had not been delivered. Then in December we were told that the campaign was waiting for the delivery of one perk. Again, the following months we were told that delivery will come within the next week or two. It is now mid April and we were told that all the perks were delivered three weeks ago. With the exception of a smattering of people saying they got their perks, few have actually been received.
What a complete rip off. Until Indiegogo and other crowdfunding sites get their act together, I will never contribute again.


To those...

Mar 16, 2014 by chrissy

…who are complaining that IndieGoGo doesn't drive traffic to your page, have you ever considered that your project isn't that good? The thing about democratizing investments is that if you don't get funded it's no one else's fault.


Never got the money

Jan 10, 2014 by Tom

BEWARE! Ran a campaign but never received the money. Do not use Indiegogo.


Coolship/Android Keyboard Ripoff!

Nov 04, 2013 by Steve

I had donated to a project called Coolship the android keyboard. I paid $240 (with currency exchange) for two keyboards and the project was successful. My money was paid to FocusWill Information Technology Co.,Ltd (who has vanished apparently, domain focuswill.com is gone as well) and received a lot of "update" emails. After a few months without an update and the recent one saying shipping delays because of extra shipping costs it had well past the 45 days I could get my paypal refunded. A month later after trying to contact the campaign owner I was asked for more money ($55) to ship the keyboards express.

At this time I figured out the lists of orders they supposedly processed were fake and did not send anymore money. Trying to contact indiegogo has given me nothing and I cannot get a refund via Paypal after 45 days.

SO long story short, beware if using paypal or even your CC for funding campaigns as Indiegogo does not seem to have any way to make sure you get your items. If I knew all this upfront I would never donate to any campaign if they can't deliver in 45 days.


no quality control

Oct 28, 2013 by martin

i donated to a project, commited to providing us with "goog quality watches for an affordable price"
the Name of the starters is MVMT and they claimed to get their backers the watches with a discount of 45$. i paied 59$. so the amount in question in theory would be 104$.
imagine my surprise, when i discovered, that they sell their watches for the exact amount of 59$ on their own website.
so i didn´get no dicount at all. i got the regular retail price.

indigogo basically said, that no one on their platform needs to keep their promise and that most people are happy to support them anyway.


so if you go there, beware, that no one is going to help you, should anything go wrong.


Great experience

Oct 19, 2013 by L. Herrera

I can see that there are a lot of unhappy people here who feel cheated or ignored by the site which is expected when dealing with the crowd funding world. When I first of Indiegogo I didn't know what it was. All I know was that my boys wanted too buy a perk for a video game upstart company. When I asked them how much they needed they told me $149.00. I was shocked at the cost but when they said that they were donating the money my first response was "Are you two crazy???" Video game companies make millions of dollars so why the heck are they begging for money. After researching the company I allowed them to donate their money but I warned them that if they didn't receive their perk then oh well lesson learned. Well they received their perk, the company surpassed their goal and everyone was happy. Since then I follow Indiegogo and I donate to causes that I never would have known existed.
My point is Indiegogo is obviously not perfect but it gives anyone a chance to create a campaign no matter how crazy it is. I mean it's better than standing on a corner, holding a cup out, and begging for money. I'm just saying.......


Crowdfunding Websites , USA 1.5 5.0 44 44 I ran a 2 week campaign it was successful but I asked for an extension because we were doing so well. Mine was for personal stuff in the video/ art category. All of my sponsors wer
Page:
123
Fundraising / crowdfunding website Go Get Funding is our recommended website for raising money online. Fees are minimal, it's easy to use and they offer innovative social features. You can raise money for any cause, event or project.